NEW from the Tether Tips Blog – “Considerations when Deactivating Salesforce Users”.

A really helpful tip from our Pardot and Salesforce Consultant Mark Reid this week.

Introduction:

A question we are regularly asked by clients is “What do we do when one of our users leaves the company?”

If you are a System Administrator you are responsible for Managing Users, this also takes into consideration the amount of Salesforce Licenses used by the company.

Depending on the business, you may never have to worry about this, but if you do have a Salesforce User leave your Business, there are a lot of things to consider. Not only are they a Salesforce User, they are probably also an Account Owner, an Opportunity Owner, an Email alert recipient, the list goes on. Its not as simple as just deactivating the user in question, we need to take some steps first.

There are a number of best practices to put in place should this need to be addressed:

No matter how diligent the handover process is when the person in question leaves, there is always a carry over and some clean up to be done from an Administrative point of view. This post will cover what steps to take as an Admin, we may revisit the subject again in terms of what to do if an Admin leaves the company.

The best way to approach this:

As I said, when a user leaves, there is a process to go through to clear up the mess. From a best practice standpoint the first step to take is to freeze the User in question. This is essentially locking them out of the Org while we address anything that needs to be reassigned or cleared up. This is a really simple thing to do, per the below image:

  • Enter Setup:
  • Type Users in the Quick Find Box
  • Navigate to the User you wish to freeze
  • Click the Freeze button at the top of the User Record

Once the User is frozen, it is then possible to make the desired changes, whether that is un-assigning them as the default case owner for web to cases, or approval processes. There are so many other possible assignments within Salesforce. Some Examples are below:

From here the next step is to deactivate the user in question:

The first thing to note is that a deactivated user in Salesforce is not using a license. However deactivating a user doesn’t reduce the number of licenses for which your organization is billed. To change your billing, you must change your organization’s license count. It is also worth noting that you cannot actually delete a user from Salesforce.

How to deactivate a User:

This is the same process as Freezing a user, with one slight difference:

  • Enter Setup:
  • Type Users in the Quick Find Box
  • Navigate to the User you wish to deactivate
  • Deselect the Active checkbox and then click Save.

Should you have missed something you will not be able to deactivate the User. You will receive a notification to correct anything you may have not reassigned etc.

How do we look at transferring records owned by a deactivated User?

The Mass Transfer Tool in Salesforce is the simplest way to transfer Ownership of Records for this use case: We don’t want deactivated users tied to accounts, contacts, leads or opportunities, as we wont receive notifications etc.

Use the Mass Transfer tool to transfer multiple accounts, leads, service contracts, and custom objects from one user to another.

  • From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Mass Transfer Records, then select Mass Transfer Records .
  • Click the link for the type of record to transfer.

You will then be guided through the process, it is worth bearing in mind that there are quite a few options when transferring Accounts.

When transferring accounts, you can:

  • Select Transfer open opportunities not owned by the existing account owner to transfer open opportunities owned by other users that are associated with the account.
  • Select Transfer closed opportunities to transfer closed opportunities associated with the account. This option applies only to closed opportunities owned by the account owner. Closed opportunities owned by other users aren’t changed.
  • Select Transfer open cases owned by the existing account owner to transfer open cases that are owned by the existing account owner and associated with the account.
  • Select Transfer closed cases to transfer closed cases that are owned by the existing account owner and associated with the account.
  • Select Keep Account Team to maintain the existing account team associated with the account. Deselect this checkbox if you want to remove the existing account team associated with the account.
  • Select Keep Opportunity Team on all opportunities to maintain the existing team on opportunities associated with this account. Any opportunity splits are preserved, and split percentages are assigned to the previous owner transfer to the new one. If this box is unchecked, all opportunity team members and splits are deleted when the opportunity is transferred.

There are numerous really helpful guides from Salesforce online, and as this is a process that we hopefully don’t have to do on a regular basis, but it is worth taking time to complete all the steps and follow the help guides to ensure this sometimes messy process is as painless as possible.

Thanks for reading, We hope this has helped.

The Tether Team

#salesforce #salesforcecrm #tethertips #crm